Skip to main content
DistrictCampusDirectory
CAMPUS

Louisiana Child Passenger Seat Law/Best Practice

 Louisiana Child Passenger Seat Law/Best Practice
   Age/Size (State Law) Restraint Use (State Law)
Birth to at least 1 year or less than 20 pounds Ride rear-facing in an infant or convertible seat  
1 year old, but younger than 4 years old or 20 to 40 pounds Ride forward-facing in convertible or combination seat (used with the internal harness) 
4 year old, but younger than 6 years old and weighs 40 to 60 pounds Ride in a belt-positioning booster seat (backless or high-backed) 
6 years old and weighs more than 60 pounds Ride using the vehicle lap-shoulder belt or belt-positioning booster seat
Age/Size (Recommended Practice)  Restraint Use (Recommended Practice)
Birth to 2 years old Ride rear-facing in an infant (that meets weight requirements for seat) or convertible seat 
3 year old and weighs 20 to 40 pounds Ride forward-facing in convertible or combination seat (used with the internal harness) 
4 to 6 year old, weighs less than 60 pounds, and not 4’9” Ride in a belt-positioning booster seat (backless of high-backed) 
6 year old, weighs more than 60 pounds, and 4’9”  Ride using the vehicle lap-shoulder belt 

Convertible seat: May be used rear-facing (5-30 pounds) or forward facing to 40 pounds

Combination seat: May be used forward facing with internal harness to 40 pounds, then the harness is removed and it may be used as a beltpositioning booster with vehicle lap-shoulder belt to 80/100 pounds

A child who because of age or weight can be placed in more than one category shall be placed in the more protective category.

A child under the age of thirteen should ride in the rear seat position in the vehicle, if rear seats are available.

Always read car seat instructions (for specific wt/ht limits) and the vehicles owner’s manual for installation guidance. For more information, visit www.safekids.org or www.dps.state.la.us (click on Highway Safety) or call (225) 925-6991 (LHSC) or (504) 568-2508 (SAFE KIDS)